Co-op delegates elect newcomers McDonald, Cherry, and Steelman as directors

Dec 05, 2022

Scot McDonald, Jason Cherry, and Kevin Steelman were elected to serve a three-year term as directors on the Tennessee Farmers Cooperative (TFC) board during TFC’s annual meeting on Nov. 28 at the Gaylord Opryland Resort and Convention Center in Nashville.

McDonald, who resides in the Monroe community of Overton County, replaces outgoing TFC board member George Smartt as a Zone 3 director. Steelman of Lincoln County’s Mulberry community was chosen to fill the Zone 2 vacancy left by outgoing TFC board member Stephen Philpott. Cherry, who lives in the small town of Enville in Chester and McNairy counties, will represent Zone 1 and replaces outgoing TFC board member Tim Luckey.
McDonald, along with his wife, Kim, raises 400 acres of crops, 400 beef cows, and 500 yearlings. He is a construction consultant for Twin K. Construction, a member of the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association, and a member of the Tennessee Cattlemen’s Association. 

“I have served for the past five years on the Ag1 Farmers Co-op board,” says McDonald. “I am proud of our Co-op system and am looking forward to playing a role in its continued success.”

Steelman and his wife, Janet, are longtime member of Lincoln Farmers Co-op. They raise dairy heifers and beef cattle and are poultry contract growers.

“Co-op is a necessary entity for farmers, and I am looking forward to playing a role in maintaining the health and success of the cooperative,” says Steelman. “As a farmer, I am proud to be selected to serve on the TFC board.”
Steelman is a past member of the Lincoln Farmers Co-op board and served as a member of the advisory board for the Bank of Lincoln County and Farm Credit. 

Cherry, along with his family, row crop 4,000 acres and raise commercial cattle and registered Herefords in Chester County. Cherry has served as a director and past chairman of the First Farmers Co-op board and chairman and director of the Tennessee Soybean Promotion Board.

“I am looking forward to serving on the TFC board,” says Cherry. “It’s been a few years since there has been a TFC board member from the First Farmers Co-op territory, and I’m excited to be involved in important decisions facing Tennessee agriculture.”  

He currently serves as a director for the Southern Soybean Research Board, secretary for the Chester County Soil Conservation Board, and treasurer of the Tennessee Soybean Association.

Read More News

Sep 18, 2023

Direct farm marketers and value-added agriculture entrepreneurs interested in learning more about developing effective marketing strategies are invited to participate in a new value-added marketing workshop planned for this fall.

Sep 11, 2023
After collecting 5,230 total votes among four milk logo finalists, the Tennessee Department of Agriculture (TDA) announces the winning Tennessee milk logo design.
Sep 05, 2023
The Tennessee Department of Agriculture (TDA) announced that the application dates for this year’s Tennessee Agricultural Enhancement Program (TAEP) cost share program are Oct. 1-7, 2023.